Australian Open Fast Facts | CNN

Digital Marketing Aganecy

210220103558 osaka trophy hp video Australian Open Fast Facts | CNN


Here’s a look at the Australian Open, one of four competitions that make up the “Grand Slam” in professional tennis. The other three are Wimbledon, the French Open and the US Open.

January 16-29, 2023 – The 111th Australian Open is scheduled to take place.

January 17-30, 2022 – The 110th Australian Open takes place.

The tournament is played at Melbourne Park, in Melbourne, Australia.

The Australian Open is played on hard courts with a blue surface.

Rafael Nadal defeated Daniil Medvedev in the men’s final, clinching a record-breaking 21st Grand Slam title.

Ashleigh Barty became the first home Australian Open champion since 1978 after beating Danielle Collins in the women’s final.

Total prize money for 2022 was $75 million AUD. Prize information for 2023 has not been released yet.

Youngest winners – men’s singles – Ken Rosewall (18); women’s singles – Martina Hingis (16)

Oldest winners – men’s singles – Rosewall (37); women’s singles – Thelma Long (35)

Most consecutive singles wins – men’s – Roy Emerson (five) 1963-1967; women’s – Margaret Court (seven) 1960-1966

Most singles titles overall – men’s – Djokovic (nine); women’s – Margaret Court (11)

1905 – The Australasian Championships are played in Melbourne.

1927 – The name is changed to the Australian Championships.

1954 – Thelma Long wins the Women’s Singles Championship at age 35, becoming the oldest female to do so.

1969 – The name is changed to the Australian Open.

1972 – Ken Rosewall wins the Men’s Singles Championship at age 37, becoming the oldest male player to win the Australian Open. Rosewall also holds the record for youngest champion, winning at age 18 in 1953.

2001 – Begins paying men and women equal prize money.

January 15-16, 2022 – World No. 1 and 2021 men’s singles champion Novak Djokovic is detained and deported from Australia over a visa and vaccination dispute, missing the tournament.

November 15, 2022 – Australia’s Immigration Ministry announces the repeal of Djokovic’s three-year ban from entering the country, paving the way for the nine-time singles champion to enter the 2023 Australian Open.

Source link

Digital Marketing Aganecy